2023 – The 5th Edition


The inaugural Sydney Harbour Concours d’Elegance took place in March 2019 at Lindesay, a National Trust Property in Darling Point, built in the Italian Gothic Revival style in 1834. Highlights featured the first Bentley ever to run at Le Mans in 1923; the 1933 Mille Miglia winning MG K3 of George Eyston and Count Johnny Lurani, later driven by Tazio Nuvolari; the international debut of 1953 Jaguar XK120 re-interpretation by Justin Hills, of which the Head of Jaguar Design said, “Sir William Lyons would have approved, I am sure”; 1971 Monteverdi 375L Highspeed; 1994 McLaren F1; 2019 Brabham BT62; and the southern hemisphere launch of the 2019 Ferrari Monza SP1.

The event was a finalist at the International Historic Motoring Awards in London in October 2019.

In March 2020 the Sydney Harbour Concours d’Elegance moved from Lindesay across the road to the larger Swifts, the home of Dr Shane & Mrs Penny Moran, built in 1875 with its glorious Victorian period lawns and gardens. Highlights amidst this setting of incomparable grandeur included rarities such as the 1913 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost London to Edinburgh Continental; the ex-Dorothy Paget 1931 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Continental Sports Saloon; 1950 Bristol 402; 1954 Muntz Jet; 1964 Ferrari 250GT Berlinetta Lusso; 1982 Lancia Rally 037 Stradale; an amazing 1987 Porsche 959; and no less than three important pre-war Lagondas.

Event Patron

David Brabham is a British-born Australian racing driver, the youngest son of three-time World Champion, Jack Brabham. David is a three-time 24 Hours of Le Mans class winner. His outright victory with Team Peugeot Total in 2009 sealed a hat-trick of wins, following GT1 titles with Aston Martin Racing in 2007 and 2008, and earned him his place in the annals of motorsport history.
Spearheaded by David Brabham, Brabham Automotive is the start of a new chapter for one of the most celebrated and evocative names in motor racing history, once again designing and manufacturing cars that defy convention, with the realisation of the Brabham BT62, the fastest car ever around the legendary Bathurst track.
David is the Patron of the Sydney Harbour Concours d’Elegance where the BT62 in track guise appeared in 2019 and the road-going version in 2020.

Founder & Curator

Anglo-Italian James Nicholls is a broadcaster, writer and photographer living in Sydney, Australia. His stories appear in many magazines around the world including Motorsport, Octane, Auto Addicts, Robb Report, The Spectator, Retromotive, and Magneto for which he is the Australian Editor. Writer, presenter, and executive producer of the successful TV show Car Chronicles on Discovery Turbo Channel he is currently working on another programme coming to our screens in the near future.

He is the founder and curator of the Sydney Harbour Concours d’Elegance, has been a member of the Jury at Chantilly Arts & Elegance in France, the Zoute GP in Belgium, the 21 Gun Salute in Delhi, as well as the official Ferrari 70th Anniversary Concorso d’Eleganza at Maranello in Italy. He has also, amongst other engagements, been a guest speaker at the Dubai International Motor Show. 

 As well as being an International Ambassador for the Bernina-Gran Turismo hill climb in Switzerland, he is also a Delegate for the Riva Historical Society, classic boats being another of his passions.

2022 Award Winners


Prix D’honneur For The Best In Show – 1924 Vauxhall Tourer 30/98 #Oe1078
People’s Choice – 1967 Maserati Gran Turismo 3700 GTI ‘Sebring’
Preservation Award – 1938 Alfa Romeo 6c 2300 Mille Miglia Spider
Women’s Choice – 1965 Aston Martin DB5
Class 1 – Super Leicht – 1955 Mercedes-Benz 300 Sl
Class 2 – Puttin’ On The Ritz – 1928 Rolls-Royce New Phantom Imperial Cabriolet
Class 3 – Action Man – 1963 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 Split Window Coupé
Class 4 – Italian Automotive Jewels – 1967 Ferrari 275 Gtb/4
Class 5 – Convertibles Of The ‘50s – 1957 Buchanan
Class 6 – Coupés From The Kingdom – 1997 Bentley Continental R
Class 7 – Super Duper – 1904 Napier L48 Samson
Curator’s Award – 1927 Bentley 3 Litre Speed Model
Prix D’oré – 1971 Mercedes-Benz 280 Sl
Best Restoration – 1970 Maserati Ghibli 4.7 Litre Coupé
Passion Award – 1932 Rolls-Royce 20/25hp By Freestone & Webb
Most Innovative Car – 2015 Volkswagen Xl1 Coupé

2021 Award Winners


Prix d’Honneur for the Best in Show – 1936 Delage D6-70 Special by Figoni et Falaschi.
People’s Choice Award by public ballot presented by Pommery Champagne –1922 Delage/Hispano-Suiza
Preservation Award presented by Chatêau La Gordonne – 1979 Aston Martin AMV8 Oscar India
Women’s Choice Award by public ballot presented by Aneka Manners – 1957 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Roadster
Class 1 Happy Birthday E-Type presented by Paradise Garage – 1962 Jaguar E-Type Series 1 Fixed Head Coupé
Class 2 It’s A Family Affair presented by Swissvax – 1976 Porsche 911 Targa Carrera
Class 3 Fun, Fun, Fun presented by Hyde Hacienda Bar + Lounge – 1973 Ferrari Dino 246 GT
Class 4 Poster Children presented by McLaren – 1957 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Roadster
Class 5 Black Jack in honour of Sir Jack Brabham presented by the Distinguished Gentleman’s Drive – 2020 Brabham BT62R
Class 6 Style et Lux presented by Bulgari – 1922 Delage/Hispano Suiza
Best Motorbike – 1969 Egli-Vincent
Best Restoration – 1976 Lamborghini Countach LP400
Curator’s Award – 1977 Porsche 930 Turbo Martini

2020 Award Winners


Best in Show: 1970 Lamborghini Miura S
Best in Show Runner up: 1913 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost
Best in Show Third place: 1964 Alfa Giulia Sprint Speciale

A Lange & Söhne People’s Choice: 1913 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost
Pommery Champagne Preservation Award: 1949 Singer Roadster
Women’s choice: 1949 Jaguar XK120
Cavallino Rampante award for best Ferrari: 1964 Ferrari 250 GT Berlinetta Lusso
Class one – wind in your hair: 1949 Jaguar XK120
Class two – pushing the envelope: 1954 Muntz Jet
Class three – power & speed: 1987 Porsche 959
Class four – I.C.B.M.: 1913 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost
Class five – Mambo Italiano: 1970 Lamborghini Miura S

2019  Award Winners


Best In Show: 1962 Aston Martin DB4 Vantage
People’s Choice: 1972 Ferrari Dino 246 GTS
Special Committee Award: 1953 Jaguar XK120 Re-interpretation by Justin Hills
Bentley Centenary Award: 1923 Bentley 3 litre Chassis 141
Cavallino Rampant Award for Best Ferrari: 1963 Ferrari 250 GTE